IVT Training: More than just pain and needles

This blog post will be about the days after passing the Philippine Nursing Licensure Exam (PNLE). For the first few months after PNLE, I was a bum. Because I’m getting tired with routine of my life (woke up, eat, sleep, tv, internet) I searched for the ANSAP accredited hospitals that will hold a Basic Intravenous Therapy Training which made me busy these past few weeks. Almost all of my friends (those who are not stuck in a call center) have already undergone the said seminar and I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t feel left behind. Passing the nursing board doesn’t stop in the newspaper release of the name of the successful examiners. The next step after that are the Oath taking and the Initial Registration. Also, you need to undergone trainings such as Basic Life Support (BLS) – Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS), and especially the IV Therapy Training which most hospitals require the green licensed IV Therapist card before you’re equipped to have a job.

tumblr_mj73rx3Ccu1rt53kxo1_500

For nurses, learning is a continuous process. We learn not only within the confines of a school but also out of it. In other words, we learn everywhere. The Association of Nursing Service Administrators of the Philippines (ANSAP) believes that the certification of Registered Nurses for IV Therapy should be continuous for several reasons; paramount which is safe nursing practice. Registered nurses who have successfully complied with the requirements of the IV Therapy Program are Certified IV Therapy Practitioners.

But before anything else, what are the requirements to become an IV Therapy Nurse? First and foremost, you must be a Registered Nurse with a current PRC license (or Certification of Rating). Then the succeeding steps are the completion of requirements: Attendance in a three day Basic IV Therapy Program approved by ANSAP and a Completion of 3+3+1 requirements.

Last August 29-31, 2013, I attended a 3-day Basic Intravenous Therapy Training held at St. Jude Hospital and Medical Center. The fee is Php3450.00 which includes the three-day training, module materials, return demonstration kit, manual and especially free snacks and lunch.

PicMonkey Collage

???????????????????????????????

The training is a continuing education program offered by the ANSAP. It is offered to all registered nurses who wish to improve their skills. Like what I said, it is a three day training which consists of two days Didactic Phase and one day Practicum Phase (RetDem / Return Demonstration).

The first part consisted of lectures about IV therapy and few demonstrations by the preceptors of the said hospital. The topics ranged from the historical background and ethico-legal aspects of IV therapy to administering chemotherapeutic drugs and managing complications of the therapy. So say hello to long lectures, mind buggling and time-pressured exams.

ivtherapy

On the first day, it covers a Pre-test which you need to pass (luckily I did) or otherwise you’ll take another set of exams or the “removals”. I’d advise you to review your anatomy; especially peripheral vein locations or IV Access, your IV flow rate and drug administration computation, and blood transfusion process, for there might be a test on your knowledge, it is better to come prepared.

For the second day, it consisted of more lectures and I was really sleepy. It was so, so hard to keep my eyes open the entire day. And I’m so grateful we’re allowed to drink coffee for keeping me awake in some parts. Also, a post test (What about? Everything you’ve learned from the two day lecture) and practice demo with the IV Preceptors using the dummy.

And lastly, the third day was the return demonstration or the practical exam. We had to perform five procedures. Here come the comprehensive procedures to memorize for retdem (demonstration). Honestly, I wasn’t able to study and memorize all the step-by-step procedures, that’s why my first retdem was a bit of disaster (maybe not haha), I was really stuttering and shaking (but not in an obvious way). But as I continue with all the procedures, I learned to calm myself and finish everything. The first one was the insertion of an intravenous line to a dummy arm. Being the first out of the five procedures, I was still nervous. The second procedure was blood transfusion. The third procedure was administration of medications and the fourth was administration of parenteral nutrition. I got acceptable marks on both. Nuff said. The fifth and last procedure was again insertion of an intravenous line. The only difference this time was the line was to be inserted on a partner, a live human partner. You only have one shot. Another shot would mean deduction of points.

And so…that leaves me with no choice. My partner/friend, Jen and I did the procedure, I go first. Of course, I am hella scared; scared I might do wrong to my partner. Haha But I am happy that I did it well (one shot only). Now it’s her turn, she did the exact same thing. I was looking at the needle while she’s inserting it. Wow! Now I know the feeling. Let me just brag but we got it in one shot! *clap, clap*
securedownload (0)
L: Me and my partner/friend Jen; R: With ate (can’t remember her name hehe) Sorry for our so haggard faces. :)
Let me share you this realization: I’m glad that I learned a lot during the three-days training. Honestly, on that span of three days, I was stressed. Aside from the fact that I felt brain drained and my stagnant brain (for being a bum) had quite a hard time studying again, I also was having trouble with my sleeping pattern. Because you know when you’re a bum, most of the time I sleep on the wee hours of the morning. My bad! Haha. However, I really did my best to understand and memorize all the step by step procedure for me to be able to deliver it well to the preceptors. End result, I got a good score which makes me proud and said to myself that I deserve this after all the effort I gave in. Best feeling ever – PROUD SELF!! :) I thank God for the grace, guidance and for listening to my prayers, for with God nothing will be impossible. So, here my certificate from the hospital evidence that I completed my three days IVT Training.

???????????????????????????????

So for now, back again as a bum. I’m waiting for my duty for my completion on September 15, 2013. Need to review those procedures and really practice inserting a cannula because I’ll be really dealing with patients during completion, in short–handling lives. For now, I know that it is indeed a privilege and a great one at that since one mistake could mean another person’s life. That one misstep could mean the end of my career. I should always aim for perfection and zero errors to assure the good quality of care that my patient needs. And that I should remember that a mutated superhero’s uncle once said, ‘With great power comes great responsibility.’

Now, this means that the training has ended. I am half done with my IVT Training! Half done? Because after the three days didactic and practicum. We still have to do the completion on hospital 3+3+1 cases: 3 IV insertions, 3 medication administrations and 1 blood transfusion. And, to wait for my ANSAP card. Feels awesome to be a nurse again and wear my white uniform. So wish me luck guys during completion. :)

To everyone who’s asking about the IVT Training schedules, please visit ANSAP site.

4 thoughts on “IVT Training: More than just pain and needles

  1. Hi. Ung completion of duties, how do u know kung available sa hospital? Or kasama na un sa mismong training ng ivt na binayaran mo? Same hospital? Thanks.

    Like

    1. Hi! Ung completion ng duty kasama na sa binayaran ko for IVT Training. In my case since I’ve done my training sa St. Jude hospital dun narin ako nagcompletion and they are the one also who process our papers in ANSAP.

      Like

  2. Astig!!!!! mag IVT na din kaya ako.. kahit na mukhang madami ang mememorize during retdem day… adivice naman during IVT? need to memorize ba the whole procedure or is it ok na own words and explanation yung iba?

    Like

    1. Hi! My advice is you should read some notes about Intravenous therapy and solutions. Because they’ll give a pretest on the first day of training. No need to memorize the steps as long as the thought is there okay na yun sa mga preceptors. Good luck! :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

