Book Review: Love and Misadventure by Lang Leav

18003300SUMMARY from GoodReads:

Lang Leav is a poet and internationally exhibiting artist. Awarded a coveted Churchill Fellowship, her work expresses the intricacies of love and loss.

Beautifully illustrated and thoughtfully conceived, Love and Misadventure will take you on a rollercoaster ride through an ill-fated love affair- from the initial butterflies to the soaring heights- through to the devastating plunge. Lang Leav has an unnerving ability to see inside the hearts and minds of her readers. Her talent for translating complex emotions with astonishing simplicity has won her a cult following of devoted fans from all over the world.

REVIEW:

I’m not really an avid reader of poetry and my expertise in the genre is minimal at best. However, I do appreciate well-written poems that I read every now and then. I remember that the first poem that I really liked, that had a profound effect on me, was Sylvia Plath’s I am Vertical which I read back in college.  Since then, for brief spurts of time, I read poetry whenever the inspiration to do so strikes. In this regard, I think I now have a handle on appreciating poetry.

If you are familiar with Instagram and Tumblr, then you have most likely come across this book or pictures of the poems. It has taken social network sites by storm and the hype of the book is undeniable but is it really worth it? Enter Lang Leav’s Love and Misadventures. Admittedly, I was intrigued by its hype and, therefore, decided to read it since it was short and also because I was curious as to why a lot of people were raving about it. Surely, a lot of people can’t be wrong all at the same time and that Leav’s poetry would merit such a magnitude of fame. So, this evening with nothing better to do, I plunged in and finished it in one sitting.

When sifting through this book, I had mixed emotions. I believe that love is one of the most complex and the illogical thing in the world. Authors and poets spend a ample amount of time trying to unravel it. At first sight, one may mistake this as a collection of love poems. But for me it reads as the internal ebbs and flows of a person throughout many different kinds of relationships; from unrequited love to crushes, to the end of love and moving on. The beauty of Leav’s collection is that I don’t feel the need to uncover the details of these stories. The feelings evoked are enough.

There are three parts to the book: Misadventure, A Circus of Sorrows, and Love.  Most of the poems are quite short, but I didn’t mind that. Sometimes it’s nice to just relax and read short poems that don’t require much analyzing – this was a massive perk to this book. The poems don’t try to have hidden meanings. They are about pure and hard love, as well as pain, which is touched upon in The Circus of Sorrows.

There is something in her words; a kind of warmth that makes her poems stand out. It’s like she can read our minds and transform our thoughts into beautiful poems. Here are some of my personal favourites from the book:

5 6 2 1 3 4

Highly recommended for people who needed inspiration for love stories or for those who just wanted a light read. :) It’s the book that becomes your diary and your best friend. I can’t wait for the sequel –Lullabies.

Learn more about Lang Leav visit her official blog.

Leave a Reply

